You may have come across this blog post by Googling "How old do you have to be to ride a motorcycle in Georgia". We at AWARD Insurance Group sure are happy you stopped by! That’s because most other people will tell you that the answer is "age 16" and leave it at that.
But as insurance experts who’ve been serving motorcyclists in the Dalton, GA area and beyond for years, we’ll go ahead and tell you that the truth is a little more complicated than that.
Whether you’re looking to start riding yourself or have a teenager who has expressed interest in learning, here are some important facts you should know before you get out that bike:
- The legal motorcycle (non-passenger) riding age in Georgia is 16, but anyone under 17 must successfully complete a certified 30-hour Georgia Driver Training / Education Course
- Georgia is actually one of the only states that offers a motorcycle instructional (learning) permit, called a "Class MP Permit". It’s not technically mandatory, but Georgia motorcycle road test reservations are actually only offered to people who have their permit.
- You can get your motorcycle license without taking the Georgia Driver Training / Education Course, but only if you are 17 or older and pass vision, knowledge and road test exams.
- Children under 16 years of age can actually "ride" motorcycles in Georgia, but strictly only as passengers, wearing protective headgear at all times. Footrests and a passenger seat (a sidecar will already have these) are also required.
Now, regardless of what age you are while riding a motorcycle, Georgia law requires you to have proper insurance coverage. While coverage laws are still a bit more flexible here than in other states, there are still certain minimum liability requirements you must meet.
If you own a motorcycle in the Dalton, GA area, there’s no time like the present to take care of this. Contact the pros at AWARD Insurance Group today to learn about state coverage requirements and your policy options!